2015 National Finals: Qualifiers

The 2015 National Finals were held at the Centre Pierre-Péladeau, Montreal, Quebec. Teachers and students arrived Sunday night and met at the theatre for a pizza party. All the students had a chance to test the microphone and become comfortable in the theatre. The next morning began with teacher workshops . . . . . . and student workshops. (l to r: Breagh Wadden, Pamela Lazzara, and Kaylan Wang) Meanwhile the judges arrived for the French Stream Qualifiers. (l to r: Rita Mestokosho, Pierre Nepveu, and Jeanne Painchaud) Sepideh Anvar, la directrice des Voix, introduces the nine French Stream competitors, selected from across Canada. Andrea Rodriguez-Marin Freudmann
 recites “Ladyshave gri-gri” by Jean-Sébastien Larouche. Grégoire Bibaut recites “Fins” by Gérald Godin. Léanne Teran-Paul recites “patience” by Jacques Brault. Luna Dansereau recites “J’ai pris un coup de lune” by Anthony Phelps. (l to r) Lou-Anne Bouchard, Luna Dansereau, and Camilia Gélinas qualify to compete in the French Stream at the Awards Show. The English judges join the French judges for the Bilingual Stream Qualifiers. (l to r: Stephanie Bolster, Jeramy Dodds , Sina Queyras, Rita Mestokosho, Pierre Nepveu, Jeanne Painchaud) Johanne Blais hosts the Bilingual Stream Qualifiers. Mattis Savard-Verhoeven recites “Le temps tombe” by Paul-Marie Lapointe. Jacqueline Sirois recites “A Boat Beneath a Sunny Sky” by Lewis Carroll. Jeremy Mallette recites “L’automne” by Alphonse de Lamartine. Elizabeth Vaz recites “Insomnia” by Kate Hall. The three Bilingual Stream qualifiers for the Awards Show are announced. (l to r: Marie Foolchand, Mattis Savard-Verhoeven, and Juliette Rolland Apergis) Sepideh Anvar introduces the 18 competitors in the English Stream Qualifiers. Peirce Dickson recites “Interesting People of Newfoundland” by John Ashbery. Tiffany Toussaint recites “Mean Drunk Poem” by Sharon Thesen. Roslin Olsthoorn Grant recites “Annabel Lee” by Edgar Allan Poe. Olivia Perry, Kiera Sandrock, and Ayo Akinfenwa advance from the final six to compete in the English Stream at the Awards Show. (l to r: Olivia Perry, Nicole Verstichelen, Kiera Sandrock, Peirce Dickson, Kailen Regehr, Ayo Akinfenwa)


See photos from the Awards Show